First Presbyterian Church of London, Ohio was founded on September 27, 1829 and has grown from 21 members to 394

 members. Music has always been and continues to be an important ministry of the church. Whether choral music, vocal or instrumental soloists, congregational singings, or the music of the pipe organ, you can be assured of having a memorable musical experience in London.

The church began a year long celebration of its 175th year on September 28, 2003 with the first organ recital on the new Bunn=Minnick pipe organ. The 42 rank organ had been dedicated on June 29, 2003. Before that, the last time the London Presbyterian Church had dedicated a pipe organ was on August 28, 1901. That organ was later moved from the Main Street church to the Walnut Street location in 1918. When the church moved to Garfield Avenue in 1973 the pipe organ remained in the old building while our congregation worshipped in what is now our Fellowship Hall. The present sanctuary was dedicated February 28, 1982. The open flute pipes from our 1901 Felgemaker organ were saved and now have been reinstalled in our Bunn=Minnick organ.

The other highlight of the church’s 175th year was a Welsh Hymn Singing Festival (Gymanfa Ganu) held on Sunday, April 25, 2004 and directed by Lloyd Savage. The sanctuary choir led the singing of fifteen Welsh hymns. Sixteen members of the church’s Men’s Ensemble performed “Bound for Jubilee” by Joyce Eilers and “Rise Up, O Men of God” arranged by former church organist John Lloyd.

For more information on our church and its music program please click on Types of Music/Services, Staff, Choirs, Bells or Pipe Organ.